99 Percent Theory, 1 Percent Practice

  • Yoga Guru Pattabhi Jois said yoga is 99% practice, 1% theory.
  • Thomas Edison said genius is 1 per cent inspiration, 99 per cent perspiration. 
  • Edison also said there is no substitute for hard work.
  • Nike advertises just do it.
  • Elvis sings  “A little less conversation, a little more action please!”

As I search books, blogs and the Internet for a source of inspiration to make lasting changes in my life, I keep returning to these common themes.  As it stands right now, I realize I am living my 99 percent in theory.  I can talk at great length and with some (perceived) authority on many subjects that interest me.  I feel like I want to share what I know but the problem is, I don’t live it (with any sort of consistency)  I am a jack of all trades, but master of nothing.  <—– Please don’t interpret that line as negative.  I know my strengths and I also know my challenges.  I want to work on what challenges me!

This blog is my way of trying to flip the ratio.  I want my 99 percent to be the practice of a full, healthy life.  I will probably add to or change the focus of my practice as I move forward but the “biggies” that I want to stop theorizing and postulating about are as follows:

  1. Losing weight.  I know, I know – typical goal but I have been an on/off Weight Watcher for years now and I just want to get to that damn goal!  I want to finish what I start and I want to fully live the program, not just pay my monthly fee, losing and regaining the same 10 pounds.
  2. This supports the goal above: eat clean 80 percent of the time.
  3. This will also help the above goals (I am sensing a theme…).  I want to be consistently organized.  Organized for meal planning, laundry, household chores, car cleaning, holiday planning, document management, etc…
  4. And my favorite theory I am working on at the moment: yoga.  Yoga should really be the umbrella, overarching all of my goals.  I really see it as my path to peace and freedom (from myself!)

I am going to use this blog as a way to keep document my progress.  And in the spirit of which this blog was created, I am off to do something instead of writing about it!

PRACTICE:

  • Meal Planning: plan and journal tomorrow’s meals
  • Yoga: Do the personal practice created for me by my yoga teacher

THEORY:

What’s your theory/practice ratio?

Are you happy with it?

What would you like to change?

Leave a Reply

