Sunday Night Insomnia

So begins another week.  I usually feel quite anxious on Sunday evenings.  The anticipation of the week to come can sometimes overwhelm me.  I think of all the things that are going to happen, the things that I need to do to feel prepared and the (perceived) shortage of time to get everything done.  I know it is mostly in my head, but it certainly feels real on Sunday night.

Planning a week of meals and workouts would go a long way in alleviating some of this anxiety.  The problem is that things change so often and quickly, I feel like my planning is sometimes a waste of time.  I feel like I need to take on the job as my own personal assistant (does that even make sense?).  I need someone to make my schedule, switch things up when they need switching, communicate the changes to my partner and do the housework, homework, life work.  Wishful thinking, eh?

What I have come to realize is that I can fill all of those roles myself.  Don’t get me wrong, things run pretty smoothly around here.  The stress and anxiety are mostly in my head.  It’s just that I have added some things to our routine and I have some pretty serious, near and dear to me personal goals that I want to accomplish.  I need to have the household stuff run like I plan to make time for my personal goals.

And no, I am not a martyr mom.  I know all the talk about taking time for myself, putting myself first, etc…  I love taking care of my house and family.  I love taking the kids to the rink, dojo, playdate, birthday parties.  It’s what I do!  I can’t see myself happy if I were to sacrifice my time with the kids to meet my personal goals.  I just need to tighten things up to make time for myself, not take time away from the things I enjoy doing for my family.

So let’s try planning this week, shall we?  Let’s see how it goes 🙂

Health Plan for the Week

Monday:   Yoga Boot camp, 30 min walk, teach yoga

Tuesday:   Yoga Boot camp, Weight Watchers Meeting

Wednesday:   Yoga Boot camp, At home Barre workout from Shape Magazine.

Thursday:   Yoga Boot camp, 30 min walk

Friday:   Yoga Boot camp, YTT

Saturday: YTT

Sunday: YTT

It’s a yoga week!  I have signed up for a yoga boot camp and I also have yoga teacher training this weekend.

Meals:

/groan.  I do not like meal planning.  I have prepped a few things to have ready.

  • Slow cooker chicken
  • overnight oats
  • spaghetti squash casserole
  • emergency macaroni
  • steamed eggs
  • bok choy/mushroom stir fry
  • some sort of meal with pork tenderloin

I had a holiday gain at WW this week so here’s to getting back on track!

Peace,

K

Leave a Reply

