Weekly Recap and Weekly Plan

Last week’s Sunday night insomnia was short lived.  After a later than preferred bed time Sunday, the rest of the week went pretty smoothly.  I completed all of my fitness plans (except for Wednesday boot camp because of an unexpected visit to my chiropractor that left me feeling the need for rest).  YTT was physically intense and mentally uplifting – the best YTT weekend to date.

I have been wondering how I can recreate the discipline of boot camp when I don’t have a structured program to show up for (or friends texting me to see where I am!).  On three separate occasions this week, someone has asked me how my running is going.  I have an on again/off again relationship with running.  It is the fitness thread that runs longest through my life and I seem to drift in and out of it.  The most committed I have been to running is when I completed a half marathon 2 years ago.  It was running that also got me into a regular yoga practice.  It seems to keep popping up so I am taking it as a sign that I should start running again.

It is humbling to going from running a half marathon to basically a learn to run program.  But it’s really where I should start.  I can’t let me ego force my body into a running plan that will injure me.  I stopped running after the 1/2 marathon because of an injury.  It was also starting to feel like too much work.  Every run does not need to be a PR – I was feeling pressure from my running buddies to up the pace even though it didn’t feel safe for me.  I was also feeling pressure to make every run faster than the one before, and feeling bad about myself if I didn’t.  My buddies didn’t make me feel this way by anything they said directly to me – I was just feeding off of their energy (and mirroring how they were feeling about themselves).

So I am thinking about committing to a 10k in the spring and possibly a 1/2 marathon in the fall.  I am going to reintroduce running into my weekly exercise routine and see how I feel.  If all goes well, I’ll lace up for a few races this year.  The caveat is that I will run no more than 3 times a week.  I am very into yoga and want to make sure I dedicate some weekly workouts  to strength training.

Without further ado, here is the plan for the week:

Workouts:

Monday: rest (much needed!!!)

Tuesday: Run or Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit (weather dependant – it is supposed to snow a lot!), yoga

Wednesday: Ballet Barre workout, yoga

Thursday: A Bose ball workout, yoga

Friday: Flow Yoga @ studio

Saturday: Yoga, run

Sunday: Run

Meals:

  • steamed egg
  • chopped veggies
  • roasted spaghetti squash
  • pulled pork
  • chicken drumsticks (from Looney Spoons)
  • slow cooker chicken (for salads)
  • oatmeal bars from Oh She Glows
  • this is a list in progress….

Peace,

K

Leave a Reply

